Paschal Candle in the Church
Fr Brian Foley became the Bishop of Lancaster in 1961 and remained in that office till 1985 when he retired. He died on 23rd December 1999.

St Edward the Confessor Parish is part of the Deanery of Havering, one of several deaneries in the Diocese. Priests have served Romford since 1850, following the Catholic Relief Act of 1829. The roll call of presiding priests is as follows:

Archdiocese of Westminster
1852-1854Alfred White (Resident at Moorfields 1852-1853)
1854-1855John Connolly
1855-1870Jean-Baptiste Colomb S.M.
1870-1884Joseph Drew
1884-1885Thomas Carey
1885-1917Henry Tilley

Diocese of Brentwood
1917Henry Tilley
1917-1923Jules van Meenen (1st Parish Priest 1918)
1923-1949Thomas Bishop
1949-1955Richard Gay
1954Feargus Saurin (Administrator pro tem)
1954-1979Matthias Kearney (Administrator 1954, Parish Priest 1955)
1979-1990John Taylor
1990-1994John Lane
1994-2003Kevin Hale
2003-Thomas Jordan

The Assistant priests who served the Church of Romford were as follows:
1922-1923Michael Healy C.R.L. (incardinated 1923)
1931-1933Patrick Donohoe
1933-1938Bernard Hatley
1938-1949Martin Horkan
1949-1952Brian Foley
1950-1952Patrick Anthony Murphy (Killaloe)
1951-1952Michael Hopkins
1952-1954Alfred Graham Langford (Calcutta)
1953-1954René Margry (Amiens)
1954Jean Mercier S.A.M.
1954-1955James Crowley (Armagh
1955-1957James Donnelly (Armagh)
1957-1961 Francis Hastings
1960-1962Sean Sheils
1962-1967John Gordon
1964-1972Anthony Mulvihill
1967-1970Michael Stokes
1970-1971Eamonn Madden C.S.Sp.
1971-1982John Bergin
1972-1973Thomas Tuohy S.M.
1982-1983Bartholomew Lynch
1984-1987Maurice Gordon
1987-1990John Harrington (Liverpool: incardinated 1988)
1990-1993Niall Harrington
1993Thomas Jordan
1993-1994Basil Pearson (Pro Tem)

The following Permanent Deacon served the Church :
1990-2002Geoffrey Piper
"The dominion of the priest lies in his helplessness, as it is said:
"When I am weak, then I am strong." St Ambrose of Milan